Clearly inspired by The Flintstones, Funk Farm label head Funkagenda headlines this very first compilation of his own record imprint with the sublime tech-house jams – Aphonia and Pebbles. Whilst Aphonia consists of dark, groovy undertones to softly support Funkagenda’s iconic and ravishing synth lines with some intermittent percussion claps, Pebbles contains a considerably larger dose of pure tech with its chunkier feel, rolling sounds and a symphonic break-down, Adam Walder is out with yet another two unorthodox pieces.

Based out of Northwest, United Kingdom, Kirk Shiels and Dave Muirhead are two seriously talented producers well on their way towards a solid plant amongst tech-house aristocrates across the globe as the aspiring ThreeSixty duo. Teaming up with the Leeds residing Chris Special and taking on Jordy Lishious previously released Funk Farm instalment, Radiator, the Northwest pair make two crucial contributions to this dizzying package of prominent tech. With hints of melodious progressive and anthemic chords, the charm of Kontakt is unremitting and certain to fuel their steady crusade towards the top, accompanied by the complex and rolling sounds of the remix for Radiator.

Hailing from Philadelphia, USA, Angelo Bratsis and Leon Weingrad who make up Taurus & Vaggeli have been two essential assets to House music since mid 2007. And since late 2008, a mere year after their debut release, the two Americans have gained recogntion and support from tech-house heavy weights like John Acquaviva, Richie Hawtin, Mark Knight, Chris Lake, Manuel De La Mare and more with their neoteric twist and contributions to the tech scene. Showcasing a uniquely harder face of the subgenre currently dominated by the likes of Mark Knight, Umek and Fedde Le Grand, Taurus & Vaggeli make their debut installment on the record label of Funkagenda. Weaving their spiffy and distinguished take on disco together with chunky tech beats, filtered vocal chops and pinches of distorted grooves, Vamos is certainly one of the core pieces in this Funk Farm comp.

Reflecting upon the sound of Funk Farm and label head Funkagenda, No Sleep is one of the offsprings from the label’s new debut compilation, ”Planet Funk Farm Volume 1″. As he returns from the remix to Louder and having the release of ‘Follow’, the package which has seen support from the likes of Tiësto, Judge Jules and Paul van Dyk fall in favour of the downright amazing Kryder remix, Nathan C combines forces with UK beauty Suzee Wood, professionally known as Suzee X, for the hard-hitting tech piece that is No Sleep. Made up by blistering and rolling sounds, a common yet distinguished lead and heavy-stepping bass lines, this collaborative effort from the two Brits may very well be capable of causing insomnia, as the title clearly enacts.

Planet Funk Farm Vol. 1 Compilation [Funk Farm] – Beatport Link

Funkagenda – Aphonia
ThreeSixty & Chris Special – Kontakt
Jordy Lishious – Radiator (ThreeSixty Remix)
Funkagenda – Pebbles
Taurus & Vaggeli – Vamos
Nathan C & Suzee X – No Sleep


4 Comments to “Release: Funkagenda presents Planet Funk Farm Vol. 1 Compilation”

Post comment