As Christmas is now upon us, Pete Tong finishes off his 20th year as a legendary radio host of the prime-time radio show Essential Selection on BBC Radio 1 with utmost ease. After a remarkable Facebook poll asking people to vote for their favourite track of 2011, the English veteran on all things Djing, producing and radio show hosting compiled the very hottest of Dance and Electronic music released in 2011 for the two hour long penultimate edition of the Essential Selection this year.

Boasting tracks like Calling, Save The World, Levels and the Alesso remix of Pressure, all of which were well-received offerings this year from the looks of the results of the Pete Tong hosted Facebook poll, along with Calvin Harris’ Feel So Close, Afrojack and Steve Aoki’s No Beef, the Dirty South remix of Invisible and many others, it’s safe to say Electronic Dance music’s year of 2011 has seen more triumphs and successes than anyone could’ve possibly predicted and has now gotten to a point where the continued ascent of the now dominant force that is Electronic Dance music is to be expected instead of hoped for.

Another noteworthy contribution to this edition is the first single from the 17 year old French prodigy Madeon, titled Icarus, to ever see an official release as it’s told to be headlining a four-track EP of his due out in early 2012.



Swedish House Mafia feat. John Martin – Save The World [EMI]
Nadia Ali, Alex Kenji & Starkillers – Pressure (Alesso Remix) [Spinnin]
Avicii – Levels [LE7ELS / Universal] w/ Avicii – Levels (Skrillex Remix) [LE7ELS / Universal]
Calvin Harris – Feel So Close [Sony]
Afrojack & Steve Aoki feat. Miss Palmer – No Beef (Vocal Mix) [Wall / Dim Mak]
Switch feat. Andrea Martin – I Still Love You [Dubsided]
Sebastian Ingrosso & Alesso – Calling (Instrumental Mix) [Refune]
Skylar Grey – Invisible (Dirty South Remix) [Interscope]
Skrillex – Scary Monsters And Nice Sprites [Big Beat / Mau5trap]
Benoit & Sergio – Walk And Talk [Visionquest]


Joe Goddard feat. Valentina – Gabriel [Greco-Roman]


Eats Everything – Entrance Song [Pets]


Azari & III – Hungry For The Power (Jamie Jones ‘Ridge Street’ Remix) [Turbo]

Steffi feat. Virginia – Yours [Ostgut Ton]


ID (51min)
Kevin Saunderson feat. Inner City – Future (Kenny Larkin ‘Tension’ Remix) [Defected]
Andre Crom & Martin Dawson – Need U Back [Exploited]
ID (1h01min30sec)

Waifs & Strays – Body Shiver (Hot Natured Remix) [Hot Creations]
Azealia Banks feat. Lazy Jay – 212 [White Label]
Madeon – Icarus [White Label]
Maya Jane Coles – Focus Now [2020Vision]
Erick Morillo & Eddie Thoneick feat. Shawnee Taylor – Stronger [Subliminal]
Dennis Ferrer feat. Shingai Shoniwa – Hey Hey [Objektivity]


Oliver $ – Doin’ Ya Thang (Dub Mix) [Play It Down] w/ Jamie Woon – Lady Luck (Acappella) [Polydor]
Noir & Haze – Around (Subb-An Remix) [Noir]
11:11 – Tourist Trap (Jamie Jones ‘Miss X’ Remix) [Hot Creations]
Julio Bashmore – Battle For Middle You [PMR]
Aloe Blacc – I Need A Dollar (Zinc Remix) [Sony]


7 Comments to “Pete Tong – Essential Selection (Best Of The Year) – 23-12-2011”

  • beast tracklist! Jamie Jones ftw.

    Btw, first track of the Hotmix is Oliver $ – Doing Ya Thang (Dub Mix) /w Jamie Woon – Lady Luck (Acapella)

  • Thanks Ruben!

    Indeed, there is more than a few gems included in this one :)

  • Bra skit :)

  • props to you for working on X-mas! truly shows how dedicated you guys are!!

  • Seth Troxler!!!

  • God jul!

  • Merry Christmas guys, you are my homepage since a year back! Keep up the good work!

Post comment