Swedish Electro outfit Dada Life up the ante for the release of their second studio album ‘The Rules Of Dada’. Following up on 2009’s ‘Just Do The Dada’, ‘The Rules Of Dada’ acts testament to how the duo’s sound have progressed over the past three years. But with four tracks already released, the burden fell upon the seven unreleased tracks to show the duos Electro stylings in a fresh and positive light.

First heard in late 2010 and showcasing a somewhat fresh melodic stance on the duos sound, ‘Arrive Beautiful Leave Ugly’ starts the album off with bleep-happy stamina. As ‘You Will Do What We Will Do’ emphasizes the simple dotted melodies that Dada Life have come to specialize in, ‘Everything Is Free’ and ‘Boing Clash Boom’ extend the duos sound to a more playful and party-hard height.

But in the aggressive grinding of ‘Bass Don’t Cry’ – by far the more inventive of the albums tracks – as well as soft spoken Progressive finale ‘Don’t Stop’, we see a more sophisticated sense of development in the Swedes’ overall sound – an ironic aural statement given their rule book. But for a collective that suggests ‘If you’re stuck, there’s only one solution: go harder’, Rules Of Dada poses a considerable problem: the album remains glued to a sound no harder than its predecessor. Likely to balance mixed enthusiasm from their global following, to dismiss this hotly tipped record would be unjust given the considerable quality maintained throughout. Without rocking the boat too severely, ‘The Rules of Dada’ captures the essence of Dada Life’s well-developed sound with a few surprises along the way, including a relaxing grand finale.

iTunes Link

Update (22/10): The extended version of all album tracks have now been released on Beatport.

Words by Dan Carter

16 Comments to “Album Release: Dada Life – The Rules Of Dada”

  • Bass Don’t Cry is my fav from the Album.. Don’t Stop is great as well, pretty unique

  • 7/10 from me

  • Bass don’t cry no doubt the best

  • 5/10 from me…. the drops are nothing great…. not even one is ‘amazing’ …. bass don’t cry and pretty good i guess

  • There are some real bangers here, I don’t understand the hate.

  • I have been waiting, and waiting, and waiting for this album to be released! The first previewed song from this album was Arrive Ugly Leave Beautiful, and that was on my birthday in December 2010. I have to say now after all this waiting that I LOVE every song on this album.

    Thank You Dada Life

  • pretty good actually! Quite suprised, the only song that was nothing special or did not have a good ”hook” i think was ”You will do what we will do”

  • Wow this album is so solid. Dada Life really pushed their limits this time unlike the People Of The Night album wich was a huge disappointment to me.

  • Sorry but If you wanna speak about the people of the night album, it’s much much better than this dada album. Expect 5-6 pretty good tracks, the other’s really not terrible, POTN is a nice diversified album and there’s not a track I don’t like. People were impatient for years for this album & since it came out I can see a lot of negative comments. There’re things that escape me in this world.

  • will they be release some of these tracks as extended versions in the near future?

  • not as good as Album Title Goes here, but some tracks are pretty nice

  • @Bigbrother

    Hahah, an opinion is very subjective… I said ”a huge disappointment to me.” but if you wanna do the ”The Rules Of Dada” vs. ”People Of The Night” album-fight I call ”The Rules Of Dada” the best.

    I won.

  • Drama for me.
    Only 2 good tracks: Everything Is Free and Bass Don’t Cry.
    But i keep respecting Dada Life, this album is not what i expected.

  • Dada life are not what they where 1-2 years ago. Compare these songs to: White noise, red meat, Kick Out the Epic Motherfucker. None of them are even close imo.

    Their live sets are crazy though, easily amongst the best in the game. Shame about their productions though..

  • Don’t stop is a bad ”Deadmau5 – Strobe” copy in my opinion.

  • I’m just writing to let you understand what a impressive encounter my friend’s princess experienced browsing your webblog. She learned plenty of pieces, most notably what it is like to have a great giving spirit to let many people with no trouble fully understand various problematic matters. You actually exceeded visitors’ expectations. Many thanks for displaying the warm and helpful, trusted, educational and in addition unique tips about the topic to Julie.

Post comment