Browsing all articles from januari, 2013

Following a slew of free downloads via Deadmau5’s Mau5trap Recordings, Copenhagen-based producer The Frederik returns with his first formal release in the form of ‘Heavy Crownage’.

Dealing in discordant lead play and mechanic cadence, The Frederik’s apex forms a deep plunge into the realms of raw Electro House to create yet another belter in favor of his affinity for the heavier beats.

Out now on Beatport.

First premiered in late 2011, Australian twin sisters Miriam and Olivia Nervo link up with Canadian duo Sultan and Shepherd to officially preview their collective debut on Strictly Rhythm in the form of ‘Army’.

Leading with the infectious melodics that have pervaded their studio outputs, their turn to the slightly more mainstream coasts of urban crossovers sees them bring aboard pop associate turned all-around enthusiast Omarion. Thankfully, their inoffensive radio-friendly offering marks maybe not their most ambitious track to date, but certainly one that hones in on the exciting mainstream capabilities that they all have worked towards.

Out February 5th.

With a track record for fine House offerings, Uruguayan groove smith Gabriel Rocha, better known to the world as DJ PP, is back to follow up ‘Bango’, his collaborative effort alongside Marco Lys, with a new solo release for his own PPMUSIC imprint.

Rallying the rhythmic precision and the Balearic vibes that have played as the soundtrack to his ascent, ‘Lovers’ sees Rocha add yet another infectious original to his arsenal enroute to Miami Music Week 2013.

Out now on Beatport.

Continuing the trend of giving away productions of his own in celebration of major milestones, Avicii celebrates three million fans on Facebook with a free download of the aptly titled ‘Three Million (Your Love Is So Amazing)’, featuring Sweden-born singer Negin.

Initially recorded for a vocal mix of his remix duties for Daft Punk’s ‘Derezzed‘, Tim Bergling utilizes Negin’s vibrant vocals with a string of swift keys and an overall sound reminiscent of his darker studio output under the guise of Tim Berg.


A set-staple throughout Swedish House Mafia’s One Last Tour, Belgian brothers Dimitri Vegas and Like Mike return to Axtone Records two years after their remix duties for ‘One Look’ alongside Axwell himself with ‘Wakanda’, a tribute to a fictional African country in the comic book ‘Black Panther’.

Built with the bigger festival speakers close to mind, the burly low-end surges and churning rhythmic builds make for one of the most pervasive yet minimalistic peak timers of the season. Leaping from subtle swells to surges of standalone lead play, the Tomorrowland residents prove that less can still be all the more powerful on the 21st century dance floor with this triumphant low-end festival cut.

Out February 11th.

On the heels of the release date announcement for ‘Torrent’, his debut release on Tiësto’s Musical Freedom Records, Martin Garrix returns to Spinnin’ Records to unveil his new collaborative effort alongside homeland peer Jay Hardway titled ‘Error 404′.

In a blend of poignant melodic stylings and slick, minimalistic drops that plays perfectly into the imprint’s new age club stronghold, ‘Error 404′ sets itself apart from the hordes of Electro-savvy Miami contenders with festival-friendly stamina.

Out March 18th on Doorn Records.

As far as enigmatic British producers are concerned, Sona Vabos has proven one of the country’s most exciting assets of late. Back to follow-up last year’s remix spree for the label, his return to Fatboy Slim’s Southern Fried Records beckons the soulful House wizardry that he has become a beacon to.

Led by the aptly titled ‘So Good’, the ‘Four Trax’ EP plays out with the rhythmic precision and and piano-driven sound that the London-based producer can well call his speciality. Where Vabos’ warm keys and ethnic leads pad out the majority of his first offering of 2013, its consistent energy makes for a strong solo release for this beloved producer.

Out now on Beatport.

Under the guise of his bleep-happy studio alias Clockwork, Henry Steinway steps up to preview a new two-track EP for Steve Aoki’s Dim Mak Records titled ‘Surge’.

With titanic surges of bass in full effect, title track ‘Surge’ takes the lead with resonant synth work and chugging Electro House builds alongside the voice of self-professed dirty talker Wynter Gordon. On the flip, ‘Tremor’ extends on the wizardry that pervaded his remix of Congorock’s ‘Bless Di Nation’ for an equally stellar B-side of his signature misshapen chord play.

Out February 12th.

Off the back of laying down a Swedish House Mafia-approved number of Discopolis’ ‘Committed To Sparkle Motion‘ for Axwell’s Axtone Records, DubVision are back at Spinnin’ Records to preview their third original release on the label in ‘Redux’.

Armed with their signature hard-hitting synth play and blissful melodics, ‘Redux’ sees the brotherly Dutch duo make a mark of quality with a track that lacks in overall originality, but excels on the merits of invigorating energy.

Out March 8th.

A staple in both his and Tommy Trash’s sets over the past couple of months alongside Depeche Mode’s ‘Personal Jesus’, Paris-residing Gregori Klosman launches his own record label named Guru Recordings with the long-awaited ‘Serial Killer’.

Turning his head back to the gritty realms of Electro House, Klosman raises the bar on tough festival-proof energy with one of his strongest offerings to date. Transitioning from haunting synth lines into hard-hitting drops, ‘Serial Killer’ marks that amid the copycat maneuvers of modern Dance music, Klosman has got the ardent energy of Electro House well sussed.

Out February 25th.