Browsing all articles in Previews

As formally premiered in episode eight of Avicii’s ‘Levels’ podcast last year, Henrik B is joined by homeland peers Niklas Gustavsson and Peter Johansson for a collaborative debut single on LE7ELS Recordings with ‘Echoes’, formerly known as ‘Voices’.

Armed with a sample from The Police’s ‘Voices Inside My Head’, the track’s somewhat cheesy undertone is not enough to draw the light away from the strong melodic properties that pervade ‘Echoes’. Despite slightly reminiscent of Arty and Matisse & Sadko’s ‘Trio’, the mix of The Police’s timeless vocal and blissful melodics makes for another firm indication that Sweden’s trend-setting Progressive House export remains as strong and influential as ever.

Out May 20th.

With a number one spot on Billboard’s Dance chart under it’s belt, Chicago trio Krewella’s latest hit single ‘Alive’ returns to the limelight courtesy of affirmative remix duties from Dutch heavyweight Hardwell. Used as the opening track in last night’s episode of Pete Tong’s Essential Selection, Hardwell’s take on ‘Alive’ sees the Revealed Recordings flag bearer add high-octane drops to the original’s uplifting melodies and catchy vocals, creating a version suitable for the bigger sound systems.

Stay tuned for the release date.

Despite the cold weather and depressing output of reality TV, there are still a few reasons left for the UK to show a little pride when it comes to national assets. With diamond-like precision, Alex Metric and Stuart Price, also known as Jacques Lu Cont have raised the bar where forward-thinking dance music is concerned. But given a world premiere spin by Annie Mac on BBC Radio One last night, the two Brits combine forces to unveil their new collaborative effort, ‘Safe With You’. Rallying fast twitching melodic play, coarse undertones and a seductive vocal line from Malin Dahlström of Niki & The Dove, ‘Safe With You’ pays further testament to the duo’s ability to master several different sound scopes.

The release date is yet to be announced.

Leaping from strength-to-strength with tactically tuned studio cuts, versatile Swedish producer Jeremy Olander continues to impress with his remix duties for a track off of Amsterdam-based duo 16 Bit Lolitas’ latest studio album. In a flutter of melodic swirls and driving beat work, Olander’s take on ‘Chant A Tune’ plays to the Swede’s strengths and invokes the feeling of being at your most euphoric in a festival crowd of thousands.

Due out May 20th.

If the past decade is any indication, Axel Hedfors, best known as Axwell, is by all accounts a dance music icon of the highest calibre. Be it his widely known perfectionism or simply his vast creativity and uncanny sense for what’s a hit and what’s not, but an Axwell production has never had any problems in finding its spot amongst the créme de la créme of club music anthems.

But more than three years in the waiting, Ax ups the ante to preview the remode version of his eagerly-anticipated solo outing ‘Center Of The Universe’, the follow-up to 2010’s ‘Heart Is King’. As given a world premiere spin on tonight’s episode of Pete Tong’s Essential Selection, the remode of ‘Center Of The Universe’ sees Axwell well in his element with a mix of resonant melodies and the renowned top line courtesy of Swedish singer-songwriter Magnus Carlson, replacing the original’s blissful synth work to create a slightly heavier-set version.

The remode version will be released on May 30th.

You don’t need us to remind you that Holland is looking pretty stellar as far as its contributions to the dance music industry are concerned. Maybe it was something in the water, but even the kids are giving its fair share of veterans a run for their money. Returning to Spinnin’ Records, Dutch youngsters Martin Garrix and TV Noise combine forces for ‘Just Some Loops’. Turning their heads for the heavier side of dance music yet again, ‘Just Some Loops’ sees the trio showcase a mixture of wobbly electro house and melodic interludes.

Out May 31st.

Finland’s new kid on the block Anton Sonin, also known as Lovetone, may not posses the hallmarks of a household name just yet, but his indefinite explosion to life comes with perceptive force. Joining the ranks of Dutch imprint Flamingo Recordings, his latest efforts may well be the tipping point for this young and restless producer from the Baltic shores. Rallying a very Fedde Le Grand-esque sound of sweeping properties and rising sirens, Sonin would struggle to create a more promising first release on the label than ‘Detonate’.

Out May 20th.

After several consecutive remixes, German brotherly duo Inpetto return to the original production front with their third release for Sander van Doorn’s Doorn Records imprint. In a similar manner as previous releases for the label, ‘Girls & Boys’ sees the duo delicately layer uplifting synth work and progressive chord play alongside an infectious rerunning top line. Despite the significant resurgence of perky peak timers that always do the rounds for the summer season, Inpetto prove a sever cut above the mark with yet another quality production in the name of fine German dance music.

Out June 17th.

Still riding on the remnants of his highly-successful debut studio album ‘Clarity’, Germany’s Anton Zaslavski, professionally known as Zedd, makes a long overdue return to the remix circuit with his take on the first single from Empire Of The Sun’s upcoming album, joining M4SONIC on the official remix package for ‘Alive’. Utilizing the original track’s standout vocal assets, the German producer injects a thorough dose of persistent misshapen and bleepy chord play to the equation.

Slated for release May 21st.

With ‘The Code’ alongside Ummet Ozcan still doing the rounds, Dutch duo Willem van Hanegem and Ward van der Harst, professionally known as W&W, return with a preview of their follow-up single, aptly titled ‘Thunder’. Extending on the magic of said Revealed Recordings release and already seeing plays from the likes of Hardwell, ‘Thunder’ hits the nail on the head where festival-friendly music is concerned and continues the duo’s spree of high-octane releases suited for a big venue setting.

Out May 20th.